Bayuda Volcano - John Seach



18.33 N, 32.75 E
unknown summit elevation
Cinder cones

Bayuda Volcano is located in the Bayuda Desert of NE Sudan, 300 km north of of Khartoum. The volcano contains cinder cones, lava flows, and explosion craters.

The main volcanic field is 48 km long and 11 km wide, extending in a NW direction from 18.28 N, 32.92 E. to 18.43 N to 32.50 E.

There are about 100 eruption centres at the volcano, which erupted for short periods of time. Many of the centres are small composite volcanoes and all are composed of basaltic lavas and tephra. Each of the composite volcanoes passed through a stage of pyroclastic cone-building followed by a period of lava extrusion which usually resulted in the breaching of the cone.

Jebei Mazrub (16 km west of Sani) and the twin hills of Sergein (6 km west of Sani) are composite volcanoes, each composed of a breached and eroded remnent of the pyroclastic cone rising 180 m above the plain, and surrounded by a sub-circular lava field about 3 km in diameter.

Explosion craters are located outside the main field, such as Jebel Hebeish (13 km east of Sani) and El Muweilih (west of Khor E1 Eide). Hebeish crater measures 800 m in diameter and is bounded by a rim of outward dipping tephra reaching a height of 60 m above the crater floor to the north-west but only 20 m high in the south. The crater floor is 10 m below the level of the surrounding plain.

Bayuda Volcano Eruptions

850 AD