Volcanoes of Kenya - John Seach


Kenya contains the world’s most extensive and voluminous
alkaline igneous province.

Volcanic activity extends 200 km both east and west of the main Rift Valley and is centred on the Kenya "dome". There is a diversity of volcanic rocks from acid to basic.

Volcanism in the northern half of the Kenya Rift Valley began at 30 million years ago, and in the southern half it began at 15 million years ago.

Seven of the 12 volcanoes central graben of the Kenya rift have undergone caldera collapse.

Northern Rift (Turkana)

Central Rift Valley

West of Rift Valley

Southern Rift (Kenya Dome)

East of Rift Valley